News from Renfrewshire's premier Judo club

Month: May 2011

Kendal Kyu & Mon Grade Competition – 26th June 2011

Several times a year, Kendal Judo Club runs competitions for “those unused to judo competitions”.

These are an ideal opportunity for players to experience their first judo competition. The next of these is on Sunday 26th June 2011.

It is hoped that a good number of our new red-belts would like to take part, as well as some of the other less-experienced players in the club. If there is sufficient interest, we will run a minibus down to the event.

If your child would like to enter, please let Susie know by 7th June 2011 to allow time to book a minibus.

As always, if you are in doubt whether a competition is suitable for your child, please speak to Susie and she will check with the competition organisers. In the past they have been keen not to exclude any children, and they make up pools at the competition of children of similar weight and experience.

Entry forms are available from Kendal Judo Club website. The closing date for competition entries is 18th June 2011.

Parents should do their own child’s entry for the competition (this can not be done by the club coaches on their behalf).

NB This competition is for children aged 8-15 only.


 


 

 

Clyde Judo Club kit

Adult and Children’s t-shirts, hoodies and beanie-hats with the club logo are available to purchase:

  • T-shirts (navy or white) Child sizes (£6) / Adult (£9)
  • Hoodies – Child sizes (£12) / Adult (£16)
  • Beanie hat Child (£4)

If you are interested in any of these then please make your order and payment to Susie by 14th June 2011.

Highland Region Open Championships – Results

Congratulations to Michael Love who took Gold in the U16 U55kg category of the Highland Region Open Championships on 21st May 2011

The full results for the club were:

  • Michael Love U16 U55kg – Gold
  • Benedict Ray U12 U50kg – Silver
  • Laura Green U16 U52kg – Silver

Our good friend Ezri Bradley of Weymss Bay Judo Club took Bronze in the U-28kg U-12 category.

Site news

Just a note that we’ve updated our Useful Judo links page with a few new links to interesting Judo-related sites.

I’d like to draw your attention to The Original Judo Information Site in particular (thanks to Iain for the tip).  The site has lots of animations of Judo throws, lists of techniques, even Judo cartoons.*

 

 

 

 

*I haven’t looked at all of the cartoons so I can’t guarantee that they are all suitable for younger eyes. The usual caveats apply – check them first before allowing viewing by sensitive eyes.

Opening dates and times over the Summer holidays.

There will be a number of changes to the times and places of sessions over the Summer holidays.

There will be no Judo session at Bishopton on Friday 3rd June 2011 and Sunday 5th June 2011 owing to the numbers away at the Highland Budokan Open and the club Inverness camping trip.

There will be no session at Bishopton on Friday 17th June 2011 and Sunday 19th June 2011 as  the Scout Hall being used for the Bishopton Day celebrations.

Summer session times:

During the Summer holidays there will be no sessions at Erskine. The Tuesday session will be held in Bishopton Scout Hall and the times for the Tuesday sessions will change to 1830-2030 for the duration of the Summer period.

The last session at Erskine Sports Centre will be on Tuesday 28th June 2011. Tuesday sessions will resume at Erskine Sports Centre on Tuesday 23rd August 2011.

The Sunday session will be suspended during the Summer holidays with the last Sunday session before the Summer holidays being on Sunday 26th June 2011. Sunday sessions will resume on Sunday 21st August 2011.

Confused? I was!

So here is a handy “cut out and keep” ready-reckoner to work out where the sessions will be over the Summer:

 

Date Day Time Where
03/06/2011 Friday No training No training
05/06/2011 Sunday No training No training
07/06/2011 Tuesday 1830-2000 Erskine Sports Centre
10/06/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
12/06/2011 Sunday 1300-1500 Bishopton Scout Hall
14/06/2011 Tuesday 1830-2000 Erskine Sports Centre
17/06/2011 Friday No training No training
19/06/2011 Sunday No training No training
21/06/2011 Tuesday 1830-2000 Erskine Sports Centre
24/06/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
26/06/2011 Sunday 1300-1500 Bishopton Scout Hall
28/06/2011 Tuesday 1830-2000 Erskine Sports Centre
01/07/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
03/07/2011 Sunday No training No training
05/07/2011 Tuesday 1830-2030 Bishopton Scout Hall
08/07/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
10/07/2011 Sunday No training No training
12/07/2011 Tuesday 1830-2030 Bishopton Scout Hall
15/07/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
17/07/2011 Sunday No training No training
19/07/2011 Tuesday 1830-2030 Bishopton Scout Hall
22/07/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
24/07/2011 Sunday No training No training
26/07/2011 Tuesday 1830-2030 Bishopton Scout Hall
29/07/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
31/07/2011 Sunday No training No training
02/08/2011 Tuesday 1830-2030 Bishopton Scout Hall
05/08/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
07/08/2011 Sunday No training No training
09/08/2011 Tuesday 1830-2030 Bishopton Scout Hall
12/08/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
14/08/2011 Sunday No training No training
16/08/2011 Tuesday 1830-2030 Bishopton Scout Hall
19/08/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall
21/08/2011 Sunday 1300-1500 Bishopton Scout Hall
23/08/2011 Tuesday 1830-2000 Erskine Sports Centre
26/08/2011 Friday 1800-2000 Bishopton Scout Hall

Scottish MiniMon results

Congratulations to Christopher Love who took Gold in the A-band U-38kg category at the 2011 Scottish MiniMons competition at the weekend. A great result in what is always a tough pool. He showed a very impressive strength of character in the final when his opponent managed to turn him over from a ground hold. I thought Christopher was going to lose at that point but he recovered to win. Well done!

Christopher Love (2nd from right) being awarded Gold in A-band U-38kg

A-band U-38kg award ceremony

Louis Saez took Bronze in the A-band Over 55kg category, a truly excellent result (and if anyone should happen to have a picture of his medal award – please let me know).

Planned club trip to Inverness – Last call for those who hanker for a life under canvas!

As previously mentioned, Clyde Judo club is planning a trip to Inverness for the Highland Budokan Open competition on the 4th June 2011.

Last year, the club had a fantastic weekend camping and we hope to do so again this year. Activities included swimming, BBQ and a training session with the Highland Budokan club. There was lots of space for the kids to run around, the camp site is close to the sports centre and swimming pool and a great time was had by all.

An invitation is extended to everyone, whether or not your kids intend to compete. We plan to travel up on the evening of Friday 3rd June and come home on Sunday 5th June.

Jan is planning to book spaces at the camp site by the end of this week (13/05/2011) so if you fancy a life under canvas, barbecue, takeaway and possibly the modest consumption of liquid refreshment such as Irn-Bru, please let Iain or Jan know before the end of the week if you would like to go.

Even if your kids aren’t competing, this is a great social occasion and there is plenty to do around Inverness (or you could come and watch the competition!)

Normal service is resumed!

Just a note to remind folk that normal training times are back in operation after the extended run of Public Holidays.

The first session at Bishopton will be the Friday evening session on 6th May 2011 (usual time).

In particular, the session at Bishopton on Sunday 8th May 2011 is ON despite the Scottish Mini Mons competition being that day. So, if you’re not going to the Mini Mons (and that is most of you), come along to the Sunday training session at Bishopton (usual time).

 

 

Scottish Mini Mon weigh-in times and entry list available

The Scottish Mini Mon weigh-in times and entry list have now been posted on the Judo Scotland website.

The weigh-in times are:

  • AA band: 0830-0915.
  • A band: 1130-1200.

Judo Scotland has requested that camera users fill in the Photography Registration form in advance in order to minimise queues getting into the event. A copy of the form can be found here.

Only six children from Clyde Judo Club will be competing at the Mini Mons as our Scottish Age Band medal winners are not allowed to enter the competition. We’ll all be rooting for those six just as much as when we have eight or ten children competing.

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén